The Doctor Who thread.

• Please log in to reply
863 replies to this topic

#41 HowItIs

HowItIs

Goddess in our Garden

• Members *
  • 6072 posts
  • Interests:Well, Rush of course..... Other Prog bands including Genesis, Yes, ELP. Reading, always reading. Stephen King, Carl Hiaasen, any kind of Non-Fiction and, naturally, Neil's books. Collecting; Fenton glass, Frankoma pottery, Disneyland souvenirs. Movies; we have about 300 DVDs. Word puzzles; crosswords and the like. Politics; I'm a writer for a political blog and a proud Progressive.

Posted 06 October 2010 - 06:19 AM

Another Dr. Who fan, here. I remember Peter Cushing as The Doctor in Dr. Who and the Daleks (yes, I am old, why do you ask?). Didn't see it again until our PBS station started running the Tom Baker series way back when. But then I lost touch again. Imagine my surprise and joy when I happened upon one of the Eccleston episodes a few years ago on BBC America (we'd just got that channel and me being the Anglophile I am, I had to check it out and got lucky). I watched on and off (the timeslot wasn't too convenient for me) and missed the switch from him to Tennant.

Eccleston revived The Doctor brilliantly but Tennant gave the role a wonderful alive-ness. You could really see in him both the sheer joy and the terrible sorrow that being a Time Lord entailed. Such depth! He is, IMO, the best Doctor ever.

Matt is.... good. He has horribly big shoes to fill and I don't envy him the challenge. But his Companion is terrific. I really like her. Can't wait to see the next season!

BTW, BBC America runs repeats at 5:00 PM EST (2:00 my time) every weekday. Then another one at 3:00 AM (midnight for West Coast). I'm catching up on ones I missed this way.  new_thumbsupsmileyanim.gif  

Sponsored Post

#42 blackhawkrush

blackhawkrush

Commit to the Indian

• Members *
  • 23383 posts
  • Interests:Chicago Blackhawks. Detroit Redwings. Guess which one I lied about.

Posted 06 October 2010 - 05:02 PM