twirling sticks

s1gny

Hello there,

i'm pretty new to that forum, and its my first post, and i even don't know, if this post ist right-placed here.

After watching the Rush in Rio DVD i still wonder how Neil twirlis his sticks. As i'm a drummer, and playing pro-mark sticks (what else? smile.gif) i tried that also, but after a few rounds the sticks fall out of my hands.

Does anyone know, how to learn that twirling?

regards,

s1gny

ps: sorry about my english, i'm german.

QUOTE (s1gny @ Apr 3 2005, 09:02 AM)
Hello there,
i'm pretty new to that forum, and its my first post, and i even don't know, if this post ist right-placed here.

After watching the Rush in Rio DVD i still wonder how Neil twirlis his sticks. As i'm a drummer, and playing pro-mark sticks (what else? smile.gif) i tried that also, but after a few rounds the sticks fall out of my hands.

Does anyone know, how to learn that twirling?

regards,
s1gny

ps: sorry about my english, i'm german.

I'd like to learn that trick too. I've seen a couple web sites out there, some even have animated step-by-step instructions. I still can't do it, though.

Recently, a drummer friend of mine (CygnusX-1bk2) showed me how to do this...even gave me some sticks to practice with...

That being said....I've practiced a bit---basically you have the stick between your index and middle fingers, and you get the stick twirling (for me, counterclockwise) and try to get some momentum going and build up speed. It looks pretty impressive, for about 10 seconds, and then the stick slips out of my fingers.

Of course, this whole thing is made even MORE hilarious by the fact that I am not a drummer. I just like to pretend.

biggrin.gif

Whenever I started twriling my sticks, I used to have to put concentration into what I was doing.

One that I do is i place the stick inbetween my middle and ring finger and move them back and forth so the stick moves in a clockwise motion.