Any sax players?

Syaoran_2001

I see tons of threads on here about guitar players and their setups, but are there any out there who are fellow saxophone players? If so, tell us about your gear, playing experience, interesting sax stories, etc.

I've been playing sax for about 12 years, and just recently got back into after about a 5 year hiatus. I'm focusing on tenor sax right now since my alto is currently in the shop, unplayable. As far as my gear, for tenor I have an early 1950's Buescher Windsor (second line instrument, similar to the Aristocrat) and for alto I have a Bundy II which is the sax I learned on, and a King Zephyr which is the one currently in for repairs. So let's hear from the other saxists out there.

I'm sure he's immensely better than I am. It takes lots of practice to get a consistent tone and build your embouchure up. I played mostly alto in school but switched to tenor in high school after failing my alto audition for the advanced band class. They needed a tenor player for the advanced band so my teacher asked me to play tenor for them since he knew I was a good player, even though my audition was bad. Otherwise I would have been stuck in last chair alto, behind this guy I really couldn't stand whom I knew didn't really care that much about band anyway.

You said your dad has a Selmer, any chance you know what model it is? I'm assuming it's a Mark VI, which is (in my opinion, and countless other sax player's opinions) the best saxophone ever made. Almost all professional players use the Mark VI. Watch any rock and roll sax player and he's most likely playing a VI. They're a really versatile instrument in that they can handle any type of playing from classical to rock to jazz, whereas other pro model saxes such as the Conn 10m are more suited to one particular style. They also have the most ergonomic keywork, so much so that most modern saxes have almost identical key layouts.