FOOD

Janie

I want this thread to be successful and hopefully it wasn't sexist of me to put it in the NWW section but...

It's that time of year again when I am all about baking and cooking. Is anyone else? I always tend to stay indoors more in the fall and cook and cook and cook and read recipes and talk about cooking.

So my hope is that we can talk about recipes tried and give feedback and suggestions on meal ideas, etc.

I for one need help in this department especially since I love food so much. I am still learning everything from scratch as my parents never, ever made anything. Needless to say, I have many failures in the kitchen!

• Replies 104
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

My first request:

Currant Scones.

Years ago there was this tiny Scandinavian cafe in Pike's Place Market and they made the best currant scones with sugar on top. I've never been able to replicate these scones and would give my left arm to have the recipe. Does anyone have a good one?

My second request:

Crockpot issues.

Firstly, I love the crockpot. Slap a bunch of stuff in there and let her cook all afternoon. The house always smells sooooo good. Anway, back to my issue: The meat is always overdone and the potatoes are always falling apart. WTF?

I don't know what happened in my case. I was able to cook until I got married and since then - it's been hit or miss!

Don't forget to draw a Janie with a chef hat! smile.gif

QUOTE (librarian @ Oct 14 2008, 01:32 PM)
I don't know what happened in my case. I was able to cook until I got married and since then - it's been hit or miss!

One thing I've found is that I can make something well the first time but then can never make it the same way again.

I really like cooking from scratch and from the hip. I have quite a few cookbooks (well over 30) and usually consult them for ideas.

I always have this vision of how I want the food to turn out and it rarely turns out that way!

Edited by Janie

I love to cook!