How did you discover Rush?

darth by tor

Personally for me it was a case of meeting a new group of friends who kept talking about this band of unbelivable musicians from canada. As a budding Bassist I decided I would see what all the fuss was about and started with their then latest Album HYF.

Then I was told in hushed whispers of respect of THE ALBUM 2112, of course after purchasing that it was all over and Ive been a devoted fan ever since! common001.gif

A buddy of mine gave me '2112' on vinyl back in 1980 or 1981 (not sure), he had become tired of it. I've been hooked ever since.

I can still remember that my friend Lenny Sweet had this new album called "2112". So one night his parents were out and he invited some friends over to listen to it. At that time i thought ok, this is pretty cool something different but didn't really give it much thought after that. Then that one day when i saw ATWAS in the drug store the album cover just lured me in the picture of neil's drum kit!!! AND THE REST IS HISTORY biggrin.gif 653.gif new_thumbsupsmileyanim.gif

2.gif 2.gif 2.gif

My brother played them when I was like 8 or 9 and I thought they jammed. They've been my favorite band ever since. This was in, say, 1976.

my dad got hooked because of 2112 too..pretty cool.

dad's always listened to RUSH, so it's never been anything new. however, when i was in 6th grade, Spirit of Radio came on one morning on the radio..it hit me like it hadn't before: these guys rocked. so, i came home & listened to it from ESL about 30 times..i was officially hooked. dad burned me a copy of his Chronicles disc, which i listened to nonstop for a while. my aunt heard of my newfound love, & bought my dad & i tickets to the VT show in Raleigh..i've been a fan ever since! biggrin.gif

The first song I ever heard was By-Tor. I didn't like it. I thought it was too long & drawn out.

Obviously I was completely wrong in my initial assesment... tongue.gif