That's it i quit!

softfilter

The Silmarillion is a tough read indeed, but being a huge LOTR fan I managed it, and even more than once - I had to cos I chose Tolkien as the theme of my academic studies. Wasn't that bad...

But being a language student, I am quite ashamed to admit that I just can't bear to touch such things as any of the Bronte sisters, Dickens, in fact anything that can be labelled "realism".. Shakespeare is another thing to feel guilty about. Kinda liked the Tempest but probably only because it was sort of fantasy-ish. Maybe I just can't relate to any of that cos it was written so long ago...

The most vivid memory of not being able to finish the book (I actually gave up on page 14!) was Dostoyevsky's Crime and Punishment. Being Russian, I have often wondered why he is so hugely popular amongst young people in the West. For me it was like wading through knee-deep sand - the language was so heavy. Maybe it acquires something fascinating in translation, I dunno.

Another unfinished (or shall I say barely begun) book was Hemingway's Farewell to Arms. I picked it up as part of my undergraduate course, read a couple of pages and thought "I know exatly what you're on about here, I don't need to read anymore". I could have gone on cos I related to the sentiment, but the style didn't grab me...

I just stick to my sci-fi, some fantasy and other non-realism. It got me where I had aimed for...

I agree...Silmarillion was a tough one, but a must for any Tolkien reader.

I like the stuff about Numenor best.

I had this looney idea that I might begin and finish "Remembrance of Things Past" by Marcel Proust this year. (For anyone who doesn't know, it's actually seven volumes long, and is considered one of the greatest literary achievements ever!)

Yeah. I got about thirty or sixty pages into the first volume ("Swann's Way") and gave up already. I still think I'd like to read the whole thing before I die, but this wasn't the year.