Geddy

My_Shrimp_Cot

QUOTE (Moonraker @ Nov 19 2004, 10:19 AM)
Never heard of either of those 2 bass players. And I am sure you can play fast with a pick, but I am most definatly certain through my own experience that a well trained bass player can produce a faster sound using all 4 fingers on his right hand. It just seems like a 4 to 1 thing to me, you have 4 fingers, but you only have 1 hand. Its better for chords I admit, but they are still easily producable without a bass.

Just to play devil's advocate here...say you're playing on one string, and were trying to play a note as fast as you can. Can a player who's rolling all four fingers across the string play it faster than a player using a pick in a fast up and down motion? I just tried it on my bass, and although I'm no Stanley Clarke (I'm not really a bassist either, I'm a guitarist tongue.gif ), I was able to play a note on one string much faster with a pick. (When I do fiddle around on my bass, I use my fingers, not a pick.)

Now, where a finger-using bassist has a distinct advantage is when they're playing across different strings ("Different Strings"...Hmmm......). I'm thinking alternating fingers makes for smoother and quicker string hopping. Again, I'm not really a bassist, so you bass-heads can give your take on this.

I dunno, I've always found the more practice you do with fingerbassing, the faster your fingers get. A good way to practice and try to keep in time is playing a song like Red Sector A with your fingers. I think its pointless though, for people that have trained themselves with guitar, they will think picking is the way to go. For those that trained themselves with fingerpicking, thats the way to go. Besides, with a pick, you're right, you cant play different strings all that easily. Try putting a huge emphasis on the D-string, while lightly playing the G-string as an accompanyment (sp)?.

QUOTE (Moonraker @ Nov 18 2004, 09:35 PM)