Hardest RUSH Song To Play Drums To

tailwind

I have been playing drums for 25 years, and can hold my own playing most RUSH songs, but certainly the most complicated, and difficult for me has always been FREEWILL. To me, this song has NEIL'S most awesome drumming.

PURE DRUMMING GENIUS!

NeilFinal.gif

Edited by tailwind
  • Like 1

I'm a teenager and I only know a small handful of 2.gif tunes on the drums. I can play most of Tom Sawyer, but the stuff with the double-bass is just too hard to handle for me. Once I get a double-bass pedal, then maybe I could learn more tunes. I'd really like to learn all of 2.gif songs on drums.

another 24 year drummer here.

I just recently got freewill down

There are obviously several complex songs that Neil's drumming can virtuatly can not be duplicated the way he can and without equiptment such as his caliber cannot possibly sound the same.

Because of the tremendous amount of respect due to the master

-a few notables that are very difficult to play that I can improvise :-repeat improvise being the word here are but not master are: mystic rythums

Digital man

Driven

Jacobs Ladder (last 3/4 )-- Check out cyg's JL remake- tremendous

Parts of Hemispheres (cygnus)

What I can play pretty clean is ( to toot my own horn)

Freewill

Xanadu

Fly by night

Lakeside Park

Parts of hemispheres including the trees

between the sun and moon

new world man

tom saywer

the pass

countdown

marathon

entre nous

ghost of a chance and dreamline

For me, Its just certain section parts from songs. Such as:

One Little Victory intro (I can't double pedal, so thats a no no doh.gif )

The interlude from The Weapon (only for when I want to get it exact, otherwise I just cheat and carry on playing 16ths biggrin.gif )

The chorus from Analog Kid (I just can't seem to keep my left foot opening the hi-hat on every other beats while playing something else with my right doh.gif )