Hardest RUSH Song To Play Drums To

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 tailwind

tailwind

Long Awaited Froind

• Members
  • 35 posts
  • Interests:I play drums, bass, guitar, keyboards, I sing, and I write &amp; record my own music alone in my home. <br><br>(BECAUSE IN 25 YEARS, I HAVEN'T MET ANYONE WHO CAN WRITE &amp; PLAY WORTH A DAMN!)<br><br>I'm joking.<br><br>No, I'm not.

Posted 15 July 2006 - 03:43 AM

I have been playing drums for 25 years, and can hold my own playing most RUSH songs, but certainly the most complicated, and difficult for me has always been FREEWILL. To me, this song has NEIL'S most awesome drumming.

PURE DRUMMING GENIUS!

NeilFinal.gif

Edited by tailwind, 15 July 2006 - 03:44 AM.

Sponsored Post

#2 Rush!

Rush!

Avant Gardener

• Members *
  • 10226 posts

Posted 06 August 2006 - 09:25 PM

I'm a teenager and I only know a small handful of  2.gif tunes on the drums. I can play most of Tom Sawyer, but the stuff with the double-bass is just too hard to handle for me. Once I get a double-bass pedal, then maybe I could learn more tunes. I'd really like to learn all of  2.gif songs on drums.  

#3 YYZ Working Man

YYZ Working Man

Solar Federalist

• Members
  • 2164 posts

Posted 06 August 2006 - 09:42 PM

another 24 year drummer here.
I just recently got freewill down
There are obviously several complex songs that Neil's drumming can virtuatly can not be duplicated the way he can and without equiptment such as his caliber cannot possibly sound the same.

Because of the tremendous amount of respect due to the master
-a few notables that are very difficult to play that I can improvise :-repeat improvise being the word here are but not master are: mystic rythums
Digital man
Driven
Jacobs Ladder (last 3/4 )-- Check out cyg's JL remake- tremendous
Parts of Hemispheres (cygnus)

What I can play pretty clean is ( to toot my own horn)
Freewill
Xanadu
Fly by night
Lakeside Park
Parts of hemispheres including the trees