Roll the Bones

Slaine mac Roth

QUOTE (circumstantial tree @ Oct 1 2008, 07:25 AM)
God only asks that we believe. It's not about proof. And it's not my job to convince you.

So, someone you've never met and can't be sure even exists or existed says you must believe in him, just because he said so? A little farfetched for me, but if it works for you, that's fine.

All I'm saying is that we can't prove the existence of god, and I'm sure nobody ever will. And I know it's not your job to convince me, nor do I want you to convince me. I'm just stating that you - or nobody else for that matter - can truly believe something exists without having evidence that it exists.

You can think that it exists, and it's pretty much the same thing. If something you believe in turns out to be false, it doesn't mean it stops being real to you.

For example, I personally think that I'm a very ordinary drummer. Other people have told me that they think that I'm a great drummer. So whose right?

Nobody. Just the same way that you're not right for believing in god, and I'm not right for not believing in god. If it works for you, great. If not, that's great too. And if you get upset over my opinion, that's when you're taking things too seriously.

I would not get upset over your opinion. I believe whole heartedly in my faith and have never swayed.

However, I do think it's tragic when somebody has to ask for proof for everything under the sun. It's as if you don't trust anyone. That's a very negative outlook on life.

If someone said to me "I love you", do I have to ask for proof? Or can I take their word for it and just accept it?

QUOTE (circumstantial tree @ Oct 1 2008, 07:56 AM)
I would not get upset over your opinion. I believe whole heartedly in my faith and have never swayed.

However, I do think it's tragic when somebody has to ask for proof for everything under the sun. It's as if you don't trust anyone. That's a very negative outlook on life.