Captain Beefheart

Rush!

Is anyone here a fan of him and his Magic Band? I'm just getting into him, he's so awesome! Some of his stuff blows Zappa weirdness right out of the water IMO. Also, a couple of weeks ago, PuppetKing2112 was kind enough to send me the entire Gilmour's On An Island CD on the computer because I was so desperate to hear it. Well now I bought the CD myself, but I'm keeping it on my comp just for reference.

I was wondering if any Beefheart fans here own his 1967 debut album "Safe As Milk" ? If so, if you could send me the entire album to my comp, I really would appreciate it. Thanks smile.gif

QUOTE (Rush! @ Mar 21 2006, 05:50 PM)

I was wondering if any Beefheart fans here own his 1967 debut album "Safe As Milk" ? If so, if you could send me the entire album to my comp, I really would appreciate it. Thanks smile.gif

If you have iTunes, you can rip all your CDs very easily. If you need help, get me on AIM.

Safe As Milk is a bit schizophrenic, and it's certainly not entirely consistent, but it's still a GREAT psychedelic album, and probably the most accessible of his early works. To say it's his most accessible though is a VERY relative term as by normal standards it's really out there.

Mostly it's his voice. This is the first Beefheart album I ever picked up when I was 17 or 18, and I thought it was absolutely horrible on first listen, even offensive. Thankfully, I had the presence of mind to put it away for awhile before dumping it, and when I listened again I realized its brilliance. Don Van Vilet (aka Captain Beefheart) has a REALLY odd and really DEEP voice, but with a lot of range and a lot of style and distinctiveness. His voice might put off some, but so will the music.