YYZ Drum Fills

Shranexis0

You know the section of YYZ in which Neil is opening and closing the hat, Alex is playing like funk, and Geddy and Neil are taking turns doing fills? I'm having trouble figuring out the first drum fill down the toms. It sounds like there are five accents, but since I'm not trained in the rudiments, it could be anything. So can someone show me how Neil properly does this fill?

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Ive been playing drums for 2 years and have been self taught so I dont know much about the vocab in drumming..but when I play that song I can make it sound like the original just by listening to neil...all I really do is just do a regular fill pretty much going from the snare down to my floor toms.

QUOTE (fledgehog @ Mar 18 2006, 08:34 PM)
Just roll down the toms in whatever orders come to your mind, and wait for the right one to come to you. That's how I figured it out.

Simply roll down your toms to your bass drum and jump back into the main beat with the open-close hat at "and". that's all! smile.gif Of course, still maintaining the timing of the song...

This fill is basically the same patern on the snare and the four closed toms (though the floor tom has a few more strokes). Each drum is accented over the course of the fill. When playing this on a five piece (as I did when I was learning it) I would play the snare as normal and play one tom as if it were two (two phrases on one tom, either the first or second tom). Many of Neil's fills require a certain number of toms, but can be tweaked to suit smaller kits.

Send me a PM, Shranexis0, and I will send you the first drum fill written out in standard drum notation.

bekloppt.gif

As a matter of fact...here it is....Enjoy!

http://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j44/tasc...12/ea129e63.jpg