I'm getting old whether I like it or not...eye surgery

Rhyta

So I found out this week I am going to need cataract surgery. I have been expecting it since I knew I had it forming since 2017. It is very blurry and it was sobering how bad I did reading the eye chart. :eh:

I came home and starting reading up on what was ahead of me and got a bit freaked out. They will be operating while I am conscious, it worries me to think about whether I am going to be seeing them cutting around in there. They will give sedation to a point and it will keep your eye from blinking. Still makes me a bit scared.

Anyone gone through this or know someone who has? Just curious.

• Like 9

I worked in Ophthalmology until 2010, and know more than most, maybe. If anything, surgeries are safer and more effective now and they were 95% trouble free then, even on older more difficult eyes. Look forward to the solution, don't worry about the process - it's a big thing for you but very routine for the surgeon.
  • Like 6

So I found out this week I am going to need cataract surgery. I have been expecting it since I knew I had it forming since 2017. It is very blurry and it was sobering how bad I did reading the eye chart. :eh:

I came home and starting reading up on what was ahead of me and got a bit freaked out. They will be operating while I am conscious, it worries me to think about whether I am going to be seeing them cutting around in there. They will give sedation to a point and it will keep your eye from blinking. Still makes me a bit scared.

Anyone gone through this or know someone who has? Just curious.

It's the most common surgery performed in the US (and maybe the world) and when it's done, you'll likely be surprised how much better you can see. I've had guys report they can see colors better and read street signs again.

• Like 5