The Beatles vs. The Rolling Stones

Lorraine

32 members have voted

1. 1. Which band is(was) more talented?

• The Beatles
    • The Rolling Stones
    • They both stink. Neither one.

For those who chose the Stones, why do you think they are more talented?

I grew up in a 60's household with an older sister that was really into music. She loved The Stones so I heard their music a lot. I started playing guitar because I heard "The Last Time".

More talented ? Both bands are talented but which one gives you more goosebumps? For me it's The Stones.

• Like 1

The classic question, but a slightly different approach. Not which do I prefer, but which do I think is more talented...hm...

It's a difficult question because, as similar as they often could be, they specialized in different things. The Beatles for example were insanely good at melody and harmony, so much that their songwriting style influenced basically everyone who came after them. The Stones, though not necessarily lacking in that more music theoryish context, were far superior blues players to anyone in the Beatles, and had quite a bit more groove as well. A lot of British invasion groups were trying to sound American, but The Stones are the only band that comes to mind who really pull it off. Both of them pushed the envelope of what rock music could be in the 60s, but The Beatles I think pushed it quite a bit further, the Stones' biggest experiment being considered one of their least classic albums. However even The Beatles went maybe a bit too far with Revolution 9. We could break it down by instrument...

Drums: Charlie Watts > Ringo Starr (I love Ringo's work and his style, but the fact that Paul had to play some of the drum parts in the studio says a little much about his versatility, Watts has proven he can play a pretty wide variety of material over the years)