Words Neil Taught Me

Hi All: As some of you know, I work as an attorney, so my whole working day is spent thinking about words. I often tell people that words are the only tools that lawyers have in their toolbox. The literal meaning of words, along with the images they connote, are powerful and heavily premeditated elements of any legal document. Persuasive legal writing depends upon a robust - but exactingly accurate - vocabulary.

And so it is that the other day, while listening to YYNOT's live cover of No One At The Bridge (it's awesome, check it out on YouTube), I focused on the word "supplication," which is defined as asking or begging for something earnestly. And I realized, while thinking of that word, that I have known its meaning for many decades because of Neil's decision to use it in The Fountain of Lamneth.

Neil contributed to my view of life by presenting me with a very different perspective than the one I had those many decades ago. But he also contributed to my life by using words that I didn't know, and that were unlikely to have ever appeared before, or since, in a rock song.

What about all of you? Are there any words that Neil taught you?

• Like 2

I remember wondering what the hell a broon was.

Absalom was a word I looked up and promptly forgot. Here's a refresher:

In the October 1991 Rush Backstage Club newsletter, Neil Peart explained that the 'Absalom' reference comes from William Faulkners' 1936 book Absalom, Absalom! 1936. "Absalom" was the son of King David. He killed his half-brother for raping their half-sister. Then, he tried to overthrow David and get the throne. A battle resulted during which his hair was caught in a tree suspending him above the ground. Against David's wishes, Absalom was killed by King David's Mighty Men. David grieved for his son by lamenting, "Absalom, Absalom, my son."