After 9 years...who's better Mike Portnoy or Mike Mangini?

treeduck

Who's the better drummer Portnoy or Mangini?  

13 members have voted

1. 1. Who's better Portnoy or Mangini?

• Portnoy
    • Mangini
    • I think Mangini is a better overall drummer but Portnoy's drumming with DT is better
    • I think Mangini is better in DT but Portnoy is the man!
    • I don't know they seem about the same level

I'm a bit underwhelmed by Mangini's drumming in Dream Theater. I'm no drumming expert, and I know people say Mangini has the better technique, but Portnoy seems like the better overall drummer to my ears and I prefer his drumming in DT. I never was all that impressed with Mangini in other situations either really, like his stints with Extreme and Steve Vai, sorry Mike. What do you think?

Mangini is better in terms of technique and ability.

Portnoy is better at showing off.

And Marco Minnemann kicks both their asses.

http://www.guitarmania.eu/images/guitarmania/Marco%20Minnemann%20selfie.png

They rejected Marco in the auditions, which were filmed and made available before the official decision was announced. I think though that they'd already chosen Mangini before the process even started so the whole thing was a sham for publicity.

• Like 1

They rejected Marco in the auditions, which were filmed and made available before the official decision was announced. I think though that they'd already chosen Mangini before the process even started so the whole thing was a sham for publicity.

I got the impression that it was pretty much a toss-up between them, and that Mangini got the nod because he recreated Portnoy's drum parts.

Marco wore a Cookie Monster t-shirt to the audition, so that probably lost him a few points. If he showed up in a leather vest with a crow on his shoulder, he definitely would've got the gig. :P

• Like 2