Have Rush used sheet music while composing their songs?

Texas King

I don't think any of them know how to read sheet music. Pretty sure they were all pretty much self taught, just playing along to their favorite records.

How would any of us know unless we were there when they wrote stuff?

They could have said it in an interview or someone in the studio with them????

Or even pictures of them with sheet music in the studio?

kinda obvious

Edited by Bigbobby10

Not likely . They would probably use charts . I kind of remember Alex referencing them in a interview. Charts are mostly handwritten notes used for reference. But like previous post stated they probably learned to play like most rock musicians by playing along to records. Thus using their memory mostly.
  • Like 3

Not likely . They would probably use charts . I kind of remember Alex referencing them in a interview. Charts are mostly handwritten notes used for reference. But like previous post stated they probably learned to play like most rock musicians by playing along to records. Thus using their memory mostly.

Learning sheet music will teach you a lot (I mean a heck of a lot), but in the grand scheme of all things, it will not teach you music. That, you have to figure out yourself.

• Like 2

Sheet music turns music into math. They probably used notes and charts, but playing to sheet music really slows the creativity process down. Al is sort of the 'accidental genius' that comes up with stuff by accident. You don't do that if you're following sheet music. So highly unlikely. Edited by HemiBeers
  • Like 2

Geddy once said he learned to read music when he began getting serious about playing piano in the late 80's or early 90's (I think it was an interview for Presto.) Maybe they used chord charts of some kind just for guidance. But I don't see anything being written in sheet music form, especially solos or anything like that.
  • Like 2

I bought a Rush guitar tab book published by Warner Bros. C 1995