Why not a 40th Anniversary of Caress of Steel??

• Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#41 rftag

rftag

The Seeker

• Members *
  • 288 posts
  • Interests:Scuba diving, travel, science, philosophy, wildlife, skepticism, belief systems, consciousness

Posted 12 December 2017 - 08:44 PM

View PostJohnnyBlaze, on 10 December 2017 - 06:11 PM, said:

View Postrftag, on 09 December 2017 - 06:57 PM, said:

View Postapetersvt, on 07 December 2017 - 11:59 AM, said:

View Postrftag, on 06 December 2017 - 06:23 PM, said:

View PostPrincess2112, on 06 December 2017 - 05:41 PM, said:

A 40th anni release of COS would have been something that I would have loved. I am relatively new to the band, so it would have been a good introduction to that time.
I am new to this forum too. This is my first post.
A 40th anni of COS would have been timely considering the band was on a farewell tour.

Nice to meet everyone here btw

I don't know why they didn't do a 40th anniversary release of COS, but the members of Rush are on record as considering the album something of an embarrassment and as others here have pointed out it is one of their worst selling albums.

People keep saying that the band members were embarrassed about the album.  If it is on record, please provide a link.  In BTLS, Geddy states they were really proud of the album.  They were certainly disappointed in the lack of sales and lack of turnout for the shows, but not in the album itself.  

I think it is their best album along with Hemispheres.  I certainly would have been all excited about a 40th anniversary offering.

Geddy Lee: "I can’t go back beyond 2112 really, because that starts to get a bit hairy for me, and if I hear ‘Lakeside Park’ on the radio I cringe. What a lousy song! Still, I don’t regret anything that I’ve done!”

http://ultimateclass...ackback=tsmclip

He also expressed regret about the album on "That Metal Show".